Viking River Cruises Cruise Reviews (2024 UPDATED): Ratings of River Cruises Cruise Viking Cruises (2024)

Cruiser Rating

4.5

Very Good

9,110 reviews

Filters

1-10 of 9,110 Viking River Cruises Reviews

Flight problems/ lack of communication

Review for a Europe - River Cruise Cruise on Viking Ve

Viking River Cruises Cruise Reviews (2024 UPDATED): Ratings of River Cruises Cruise Viking Cruises (1)

Emsbom12-

6-10 Cruises

• Age 70s

The Grand European Tour was amazing. I would give it a rating of 10 on a scale of 0 to 10. We did an extension to Prague, which was still an amazing trip but the thing that really made the tour very worrisome and will question our next trips with Viking was the lack of communication and knowledge of the Viking personnel regarding our flight back to the US. we were notified by the airline that our

...

Read More

Sail Date: May 2024

Amazing trip!

Review for a Europe - River Cruise Cruise on Viking Forseti

Viking River Cruises Cruise Reviews (2024 UPDATED): Ratings of River Cruises Cruise Viking Cruises (2)

QoR

2-5 Cruises

• Age 70s

This trip was so much fun and so well-planned and executed by Viking and the crew and staff on the ship. Every detail was attended to, and nothing left to chance. I used to run Olympic hospitality programs, and I know what goes into making a memorable trip for your guests. Bravo Viking Forseti! While the weather was not perfect (it rained a lot!), the excursions were still memorable and

...

Read More

Trip of a Lifetime

Review for a Europe - River Cruise Cruise on Viking Kara

Viking River Cruises Cruise Reviews (2024 UPDATED): Ratings of River Cruises Cruise Viking Cruises (3)

Colleen Garlicgirl147

2-5 Cruises

• Age 70s

Everything from beginning to end was far above our expectations. The staff and crew are to be recognized for the excellent service they give. Without exception, they were friendly and accomodating. The ship was modern, yet cozy. Emacuately clean and comfortable. I've never had an offer to change the mattress if it wasn't right for us. Absolutely above and beyond. The tour, the included

...

Read More

Sail Date: May 2024

Traveled with children

A wonderful journey through the French countryside

Review for a Europe - River Cruise Cruise on Viking Buri

Viking River Cruises Cruise Reviews (2024 UPDATED): Ratings of River Cruises Cruise Viking Cruises (4)

monahanje

10+ Cruises

• Age 60s

From the moment we stepped onboard, this crew provided outstanding service that reinforced why Viking is our first choice for both river and ocean cruising. The crew was both friendly and highly professional at all times. Ali, our chosen server in the restaurant got to know us personally and was always ready with our preferred wines. The bar manager was also highly attentive to our desires for

...

Read More

Sail Date: May 2024

Top Notch Viking Jarl

Review for a Europe - River Cruise Cruise on Viking Jarl

Viking River Cruises Cruise Reviews (2024 UPDATED): Ratings of River Cruises Cruise Viking Cruises (9)

Torrance Cruiser

First Time Cruiser

• Age 60s

Our Viking cruise was top notch. The ship, crew and staff, food and excursions were all excellent. Loved being able to visit so many beautiful cities without the hassle of changing hotels, and yet have all the amenities of the Viking Jarl. We were very impressed with the quality of the food, there were so many choices and it was all delicious. The excursions were all excellent too - both the

...

Read More

Sail Date: May 2024

Traveled with children

May in Bordeaux, France

Review for a Europe - River Cruise Cruise on Viking Forseti

Viking River Cruises Cruise Reviews (2024 UPDATED): Ratings of River Cruises Cruise Viking Cruises (10)

AVB-AMG

6-10 Cruises

• Age 60s

This is a wonderful river cruise for anyone who is loves wine and is curious to learn more about how some of the world's best wines are produced. This particular river cruise does not travel very far on the Gironde and Garonne rivers, yet provides a very comfortable venue to tour many of the regions historical chateaus and world-renowned vineyards. The various choices of included and optional

...

Read More

Sail Date: May 2024

Traveled with children

Fantastic first cruise!

Review for a Europe - River Cruise Cruise on Viking Atla

Viking River Cruises Cruise Reviews (2024 UPDATED): Ratings of River Cruises Cruise Viking Cruises (13)

LokiTM

First Time Cruiser

• Age 50s

This was my first cruise experience. The crew was fantastic, always friendly and attentive. The food was very good.I would have liked some of the outings to focus more on history and culture rather than things like the Sound of Music.There were some technical issues on the ship but they were handled well by the crew with minimal impact on the passengers.The cabin was great, and the bed

...

Read More

Sail Date: May 2024

Best of the Best, Viking River Cruise

Review for a Europe - River Cruise Cruise on Viking Aegir

Viking River Cruises Cruise Reviews (2024 UPDATED): Ratings of River Cruises Cruise Viking Cruises (14)

Pati Corvette1

2-5 Cruises

• Age 70s

We have traveled quite a bit, especially to Europe, so we did not know what to expect from our river cruise. Viking did not disappoint, from the moment we walked on to the boat to the day we departed, the personnel was top notch! The whole staff was extremely professional, polite and enthusiastic. The Program Director George, was on top of his game 24/7. I think every one of the passengers

...

Read More

Sail Date: May 2024

Traveled with children

40th Anniversary Trip

Review for a Europe - River Cruise Cruise on Viking Tialfi

Viking River Cruises Cruise Reviews (2024 UPDATED): Ratings of River Cruises Cruise Viking Cruises (15)

pmelt383

First Time Cruiser

• Age 60s

Our May 40th Anniversary trip was Above and beyond our expectations, we seen and done so much. The Archie and Jocelyn knew our names on day 2 everyone was so friendly and attentive. We had a suite which was stocked every day, thank you Nina you were wonderful. The cruise director Andy was very good at his job he had everything planned out from buses to tour guides even when we were behind 11

...

Read More

Sail Date: May 2024

The Best

Review for a Europe - River Cruise Cruise on Viking Mani

Viking River Cruises Cruise Reviews (2024 UPDATED): Ratings of River Cruises Cruise Viking Cruises (17)

OBX review.

First Time Cruiser

• Age 70s

This was our first cruise ever. Had an outstanding time on the Mani the crew was great the service was outstanding as well. Meals were over the top and excellent.Our excursions were fantastic , however I do have one part of an excursion that I was disappointed in. The Colmar WWII museum was a disappointment to me. Our tour guide for that excursion was fantastic and very informative, it was

...

Read More

Sail Date: May 2024

Traveled with children

  • Viking River Cruises Cruise Reviews (2024 UPDATED): Ratings of River Cruises Cruise Viking Cruises (2024)

    FAQs

    What is the Viking River Cruise ship ranked? ›

    Cruisers' Choice Awards — 2023, 2019

    In 2023, Viking was rated the Best River Line in Cruise Critic's Cruisers' Choice Awards for the second consecutive time. Additionally, in 2019 Viking Vidar and Viking Lofn took first and second place respectively in this category.

    What is the star rating of the Viking cruises? ›

    For every Viking ship they have reviewed —Viking Venus(2021), Viking Jupiter (2019), Viking Orion(2018), Viking Sky(2017), Viking Sea(2016) and Viking Star(2015)—Cruise Critic's team of expert editors has awarded their highest rating: 5 stars.

    Are Viking cruises high end? ›

    Viking Cruises is considered to be what many refer to as an upscale, or luxury cruise line.

    Is Viking a top cruise line? ›

    Viking also dominated Cruise Critic's 2023 Cruisers' Choice Awards, receiving top honors in six categories including Best Overall Line, Best River Line, and Best Dining for its ocean and expedition voyages.

    Which is the most popular river cruise? ›

    1: Viking River Cruises. Founded in 1997, Viking River Cruises plies the waterways of Europe, Asia, the U.S., and Egypt with its fleet of more than 60 vessels. While Viking has also launched an award-winning ocean cruise line, the company built its reputation in river cruising.

    What is the average age of a Viking river cruise passenger? ›

    The Demographics | The average age demographic for guests is 35 – 75, but there were guests aged 24 -84 on my particular cruise and everyone had fun interacting. As of August 1, 2018 children under 18 are not permitted on Viking River Cruises.

    Is Viking Cruises having financial problems? ›

    It has about $4.7 billion in debt, according to data compiled by Bloomberg. The company is backed by private equity firm TPG and the Canada Pension Plan Investment Board, which together invested about $500 million in additional capital in November 2020, after first investing in 2016.

    What cruise line is comparable to Viking? ›

    Viking Cruises competitors include Norwegian Cruise Line, Princess Cruises, Vantage Deluxe World Travel, Crystal Cruises and Seabourn.

    Why are Viking Cruises the best? ›

    It's destination focused.

    The pace is pretty intense; on a seven-day cruise, you'll visit a new port each day, and longer itineraries have few sea days. But you will spend time in port thoroughly exploring each destination. One reason: Viking visits ports when it knows its passengers will have better access.

    Why is Viking Cruises so expensive? ›

    Why are Viking cruises so expensive? They're a luxury line that is all-inclusive. The bargain lines (basically, the big party ships doing the tropical island/Mexico port-hopping) are cheap because you get your room and the cheap food alternatives and that's about it.

    Who is the competitor to Viking River Cruise? ›

    How Does AmaWaterways & Viking River Cruises Compare on Price, Inclusions and Booking Policies? AmaWaterways and Viking are similarly priced across all cabin categories, from the lowest on up to the suites, and both offer comparable inclusions.

    Which side of river cruise ship is best? ›

    The truth, though, is this: There's no “better” side of the ship. It doesn't matter where you're going, or what river you're sailing on, or even what ship you're sailing aboard. Both sides of the ship are created equal.

    Which side of Viking River Cruise is best? ›

    The truth, though, is this: There's no “better” side of the ship. It doesn't matter where you're going, or what river you're sailing on, or even what ship you're sailing aboard. Both sides of the ship are created equal.

    Who competes with Viking River Cruises? ›

    • Viking River Cruises.
    • Uniworld Boutique River Cruises.
    • American Cruise Lines.
    • AmaWaterways.
    • Avalon Waterways.
    • Tauck.
    • Emerald Cruises.
    • Scenic Luxury Cruises and Tours.

    Are all Viking River cruise ships the same? ›

    Viking offers a variety of itineraries on Europe's rivers -- but what doesn't change much are the cruise ships themselves. Known as "Longships," Viking's fleet of river cruise ships on most rivers all carry 190 passengers, with a similar Scandinavian decor and sensibility, as well as inclusions and programming.

    Top Articles
    Latest Posts
    Article information

    Author: The Hon. Margery Christiansen

    Last Updated:

    Views: 5503

    Rating: 5 / 5 (50 voted)

    Reviews: 89% of readers found this page helpful

    Author information

    Name: The Hon. Margery Christiansen

    Birthday: 2000-07-07

    Address: 5050 Breitenberg Knoll, New Robert, MI 45409

    Phone: +2556892639372

    Job: Investor Mining Engineer

    Hobby: Sketching, Cosplaying, Glassblowing, Genealogy, Crocheting, Archery, Skateboarding

    Introduction: My name is The Hon. Margery Christiansen, I am a bright, adorable, precious, inexpensive, gorgeous, comfortable, happy person who loves writing and wants to share my knowledge and understanding with you.