Viking Ocean Cruise Reviews (2024 UPDATED): Ratings of Viking Ocean Cruises (2024)

Cruiser Rating

4.6

Very Good

6,845 reviews

Filters

1-10 of 6,845 Viking Ocean Cruise Reviews

Doesn’t Live Up to the Hype

Review for a on Viking Mars

Viking Ocean Cruise Reviews (2024 UPDATED): Ratings of Viking Ocean Cruises (1)

jshape

10+ Cruises

• Age 70s

My wife and I just returned from a 14-night cruise in Viking Mars. The cruise started in Barcelona on May 11 and ended in Bergen, Norway on May 25. The weather was perfect with negligible rain and much higher temperatures than expected.We are both in our 70s, semi retired and active. We are not foodies, gym rats or big partiers. This was our 21st cruise but the first on Viking Ocean. We chose

...

Read More

Sail Date: May 2024

Pretty close to perfection

Review for a Europe - Eastern Mediterranean Cruise on Viking Sea

Viking Ocean Cruise Reviews (2024 UPDATED): Ratings of Viking Ocean Cruises (2)

LH_25

2-5 Cruises

• Age 70s

Let me get the one bad thing that happened down on paper first… one of our checked bags that Viking delivered to our pre-extension hotel in Venice was delivered to the wrong room - one with no one staying in it. The Viking desk at the Hilton Molino Stucky was of little to no help in finding it, but the hotel staff managed to locate it after 15 minutes or so. After that poor start on Viking’s

...

Read More

Sail Date: May 2024

A Great Trip!

Review for a on Viking Sky

Viking Ocean Cruise Reviews (2024 UPDATED): Ratings of Viking Ocean Cruises (7)

Great British Isle Trip

2-5 Cruises

• Age 60s

This was an amazing experience! From the extension both before and after the cruise to the actual cruise experience, everything was first class! The Viking crew was wonderful in making our experience the best! How they seem to easily remember the names of the the passengers is incredible! They were always ready to lend a hand or take care of something when needing attention. The food was very,

...

Read More

Sail Date: May 2024

Traveled with children

Viking Jupiter: Istanbul to Venice

Review for a Europe - Eastern Mediterranean Cruise on Viking Jupiter

Viking Ocean Cruise Reviews (2024 UPDATED): Ratings of Viking Ocean Cruises (8)

bergman

10+ Cruises

• Age 70s

Like all Viking ships, there is little room for improvement. The ships are spacious, very well appointed with a quiet Norwegian style. We opted for a Deluxe Veranda Stateroom which while not large was adequate. Staff was generally friendly and capable with a few exceptions. A few critiques: As my wife and I do not eat meat, dining options were limited. While there are always vegetarian

...

Read More

Sail Date: May 2024

Traveled with children

From the moment we boarded - Bliss

Review for a Europe - Eastern Mediterranean Cruise on Viking Jupiter

Viking Ocean Cruise Reviews (2024 UPDATED): Ratings of Viking Ocean Cruises (9)

taylor408

6-10 Cruises

• Age 70s

We thoroughly enjoyed our Viking Ocean Cruise. We had taken the Viking Mississippi River cruise last year and while both were enjoyable the size, ease, comfort, ports and staff were so different it is difficult to compare. We did opt for a larger room (PS1) on the Viking Jupiter which made our cruise so much more enjoyable. Highly recommend booking the larger room if budget allows as it was a

...

Read More

Sail Date: May 2024

Experience of a lifetime

Review for a Europe - Western Mediterranean Cruise on Viking Mars

Viking Ocean Cruise Reviews (2024 UPDATED): Ratings of Viking Ocean Cruises (13)

Sunny-05

2-5 Cruises

• Age 50s

I felt welcomed and cared for. The ship was clean and well organized. The food was amazing and I enjoyed our off shore excursions. It was comfortable and pleasant with the number of guests on board the ship. I would definitely book another Viking cruise and have encouraged many people to do the same. The activity options are plentiful with a nice variety. Embarking and dis-embarking was so easy

...

Read More

Sail Date: May 2024

A Great Trip

Review for a Europe - Eastern Mediterranean Cruise on Viking Mars

Viking Ocean Cruise Reviews (2024 UPDATED): Ratings of Viking Ocean Cruises (14)

Usthopin

2-5 Cruises

• Age 60s

Ship was great…stateroom and services were great….they could accommodate our group of 12 for dinner…a ver smooth trip…didn’t like the excursion sign up process ….we had a group of 12 and this process just didn’t work…more details about excursion…I.E….wine tasting 3.5 hours in a bus and 45 minutes tasting wine would have been good information…with that said…tours and buses were great…much cleaner

...

Read More

Sail Date: May 2024

Traveled with children

Loved everything!

Review for a Baltic Sea Cruise on Viking Venus

Viking Ocean Cruise Reviews (2024 UPDATED): Ratings of Viking Ocean Cruises (15)

Mad-39

2-5 Cruises

• Age 70s

My husband was reluctant about going because he dislikes cruising BUT he changed his mind and wanted to keep on cruising!We loved the ship and everything it had to offer. Really enjoyed the classical live music daily in the afternoons. The entertainment in the theater were surprisingly good. Loved the spa with the ice room. All the staff were incredibly nice and seems genuinely to

...

Read More

Sail Date: May 2024

Exceptional cruising experience in Scandinavia

Review for a Baltic Sea Cruise on Viking Venus

Viking Ocean Cruise Reviews (2024 UPDATED): Ratings of Viking Ocean Cruises (16)

SoCal Citizen

6-10 Cruises

• Age 70s

Viking Homelands Cruise takes you to 6 countries with perfectly curated stops and excursions. The usual Viking details and friendly attentive crew are in evidence. They have updated their menus and it was evident; this was our 5th Viking cruise and the food was the best ever. On board entertainment, from the 4 singers in the Star Theater to the resident historian were topnotch. We really

...

Read More

Sail Date: May 2024

Amazing beyond expectations.

Review for a Baltic Sea Cruise on Viking Venus

Viking Ocean Cruise Reviews (2024 UPDATED): Ratings of Viking Ocean Cruises (17)

Michael the Fire Fighter

2-5 Cruises

• Age 70s

The cruse was amazing. We had taken a cruise on another line and said never again. After this Viking Cruise we are looking at the taking another one. We have told friends that have taken other cruise lines and didnt care for it, that they need to take a Viking Cruise. The ship was unbelievable but what made the experience great was the staff. From what we could tell the entire attitude extended

...

Read More

Sail Date: May 2024

Traveled with children

  • Viking Ocean Cruise Reviews (2024 UPDATED): Ratings of Viking Ocean Cruises (2024)

    FAQs

    What is the star rating of the Viking Cruises? ›

    For every Viking ship they have reviewed —Viking Venus(2021), Viking Jupiter (2019), Viking Orion(2018), Viking Sky(2017), Viking Sea(2016) and Viking Star(2015)—Cruise Critic's team of expert editors has awarded their highest rating: 5 stars.

    What is the ranking of Viking Cruises? ›

    Last month, Viking made history when it was voted #1 for rivers, oceans and expeditions by Condé Nast Traveler in the publication's 2023 Readers' Choice Awards. The company was also voted to the top of its categories for rivers, oceans and expeditions by Travel + Leisure in the 2023 World's Best Awards.

    What is the average age of a Viking ocean cruise passenger? ›

    In general, we are seeing more 30's, 40's and 50's on board. We haven't been on a Viking Ocean where we have seen that age range. We have seen maybe a very few in their 40's, more in their 50's, but by far the majority in their 60's and 70's.

    What do people say about Viking Cruises? ›

    The food was amazing and I enjoyed our off shore excursions. It was comfortable and pleasant with the number of guests on board the ship. I would definitely book another Viking cruise and have encouraged many people to do the same. The activity options are plentiful with a nice variety.

    Is Viking Cruises having financial problems? ›

    It has about $4.7 billion in debt, according to data compiled by Bloomberg. The company is backed by private equity firm TPG and the Canada Pension Plan Investment Board, which together invested about $500 million in additional capital in November 2020, after first investing in 2016.

    Are Viking Cruises upscale? ›

    From the tastefully appointed, modern, beautifully designed, Scandinavian ships to the luxurious all-inclusive amenities, Viking are recognised as a Luxury Brand within the industry.

    Who is the target audience for Viking Cruises? ›

    Instead, Viking Cruises wants older couples 50+ looking for daytime explorations to learn about a new location. They are going after wealthier consumers who are willing to pay for luxury and high-end services. Their choice of locations is more for the exploration, whether it's Greece, Asia, or up into the Arctic.

    What age is senior on cruise ships? ›

    Many of the major cruise lines including Royal Caribbean, Carnival Cruise Lines and Norweigan Cruise Lines offer Senior Citizen Rates for guests age 55 or older. Senior Cruise Discounts are typically available on last minute cruises when cruise lines need help filling the last remaining cabins on their ships.

    Are Viking River Cruises for old people? ›

    Yes, the average age of the population on a Viking River Cruise is probably 70.

    Why is Viking Cruises so expensive? ›

    Lines like Viking or Regent Seven Seas include everything except sometimes the highest-priced premium alcohols. There's no pay dining, no charge for laundry, and your cruise excursions are included in your fare. You're paying more up front, but you're going to have substantiall fewer incidental charges.

    Do people get seasick on Viking Ocean cruises? ›

    Will I get seasick on an expedition ship? Viking expedition ships are designed with the latest stabilization technology, but every person is different. With that said, please consider bringing some preventative medication with you if you are susceptible to motion sickness or discomfort.

    Why choose Viking Ocean Cruises? ›

    It's destination focused.

    The pace is pretty intense; on a seven-day cruise, you'll visit a new port each day, and longer itineraries have few sea days. But you will spend time in port thoroughly exploring each destination. One reason: Viking visits ports when it knows its passengers will have better access.

    What is the best cruise line? ›

    The 10 Best Cruise Lines for Adults [2024]
    • Celebrity Cruises.
    • Holland America Cruise Line.
    • Royal Caribbean International.
    • Princess Cruises.
    • Silversea Cruises.
    • Azamara Cruises.
    • Carnival Cruises.
    • Book Your Next Cruise with AAA.
    Apr 18, 2024

    What are the pros and cons of Viking air? ›

    The advantage of using Viking is often times the fare is cheaper. The other reason is if your flight is changed or cancelled while you are already cruising, if you miss a connection or have any trouble with your flights, Viking will help you. The disadvantage is it's harder to upgrade and you can't use FF miles.

    Is Viking a good company? ›

    Viking has an employee rating of 3.8 out of 5 stars, based on 42 company reviews on Glassdoor which indicates that most employees have a good working experience there. The Viking employee rating is in line with the average (within 1 standard deviation) for employers within the Retail & Wholesale industry (3.5 stars).

    Top Articles
    Latest Posts
    Article information

    Author: Aron Pacocha

    Last Updated:

    Views: 5499

    Rating: 4.8 / 5 (48 voted)

    Reviews: 87% of readers found this page helpful

    Author information

    Name: Aron Pacocha

    Birthday: 1999-08-12

    Address: 3808 Moen Corner, Gorczanyport, FL 67364-2074

    Phone: +393457723392

    Job: Retail Consultant

    Hobby: Jewelry making, Cooking, Gaming, Reading, Juggling, Cabaret, Origami

    Introduction: My name is Aron Pacocha, I am a happy, tasty, innocent, proud, talented, courageous, magnificent person who loves writing and wants to share my knowledge and understanding with you.