Viking Cruise Reviews (2024 UPDATED): Ratings of Viking River Cruises (2024)

Cruiser Rating

4.6

Very Good

9,540 reviews

Filters

1-10 of 9,540 Viking Cruise Reviews

first trip of a lifetime

Review for a Europe - River Cruise Cruise on Viking Kari

Viking Cruise Reviews (2024 UPDATED): Ratings of Viking River Cruises (1)

jmcmethodist

First Time Cruiser

• Age 70s

Our first cruise and it was beyond our expectations. Service from Viking from home to home again was attentive to the last detail. The ship was just the right size, the food and drink were both magnificent, the crew was friendly and helpful (as well as personable), and the excursions were delightful. They did a special thing for us at Normandy Beach American cemetery, holding a solemn memorial

...

Read More

Sail Date: May 2024

Traveled with children

A wonderful experience

Review for a Europe - River Cruise Cruise on Viking Kari

Viking Cruise Reviews (2024 UPDATED): Ratings of Viking River Cruises (2)

Green Mountain Girl03

2-5 Cruises

• Age 70s

We thoroughly enjoyed our cruise on the Kari. The staff were all friendly and made every effort to please. The food and wine were great and there was plenty of it. An extensive breakfast buffet was available daily, or we could order from the menu. Lunch and dinner were order from the menu and it was possible to dine outdoors at tables on the bow in good weather. Our stateroom was clean and

...

Read More

Flight problems/ lack of communication

Review for a Europe - River Cruise Cruise on Viking Ve

Viking Cruise Reviews (2024 UPDATED): Ratings of Viking River Cruises (3)

Emsbom12-

6-10 Cruises

• Age 70s

The Grand European Tour was amazing. I would give it a rating of 10 on a scale of 0 to 10. We did an extension to Prague, which was still an amazing trip but the thing that really made the tour very worrisome and will question our next trips with Viking was the lack of communication and knowledge of the Viking personnel regarding our flight back to the US. we were notified by the airline that our

...

Read More

Sail Date: May 2024

Paris and the Normandy Beaches

Review for a Europe - River Cruise Cruise on Viking Fjorgyn

Viking Cruise Reviews (2024 UPDATED): Ratings of Viking River Cruises (4)

MittenTravel

10+ Cruises

• Age 70s

Viking services at the airport for both the arrival and departure were outstanding. The representatives were accommodating and very kind. All onboard staff members were friendly, courteous, and efficient. The only tour we were unhappy about was the combination of the Panoramic Paris driving tour with the trip to Montmartre. It made for a nearly 10 hour day (because of traffic) and should have

...

Read More

Sail Date: May 2024

Amazing trip!

Review for a Europe - River Cruise Cruise on Viking Forseti

Viking Cruise Reviews (2024 UPDATED): Ratings of Viking River Cruises (11)

QoR

2-5 Cruises

• Age 70s

This trip was so much fun and so well-planned and executed by Viking and the crew and staff on the ship. Every detail was attended to, and nothing left to chance. I used to run Olympic hospitality programs, and I know what goes into making a memorable trip for your guests. Bravo Viking Forseti! While the weather was not perfect (it rained a lot!), the excursions were still memorable and

...

Read More

Sail Date: May 2024

Traveled with children

Trip of a Lifetime

Review for a Europe - River Cruise Cruise on Viking Kara

Viking Cruise Reviews (2024 UPDATED): Ratings of Viking River Cruises (12)

Colleen Garlicgirl147

2-5 Cruises

• Age 70s

Everything from beginning to end was far above our expectations. The staff and crew are to be recognized for the excellent service they give. Without exception, they were friendly and accomodating. The ship was modern, yet cozy. Emacuately clean and comfortable. I've never had an offer to change the mattress if it wasn't right for us. Absolutely above and beyond. The tour, the included

...

Read More

Sail Date: May 2024

Traveled with children

A wonderful journey through the French countryside

Review for a Europe - River Cruise Cruise on Viking Buri

Viking Cruise Reviews (2024 UPDATED): Ratings of Viking River Cruises (13)

monahanje

10+ Cruises

• Age 60s

From the moment we stepped onboard, this crew provided outstanding service that reinforced why Viking is our first choice for both river and ocean cruising. The crew was both friendly and highly professional at all times. Ali, our chosen server in the restaurant got to know us personally and was always ready with our preferred wines. The bar manager was also highly attentive to our desires for

...

Read More

Sail Date: May 2024

Top Notch Viking Jarl

Review for a Europe - River Cruise Cruise on Viking Jarl

Viking Cruise Reviews (2024 UPDATED): Ratings of Viking River Cruises (18)

Torrance Cruiser

First Time Cruiser

• Age 60s

Our Viking cruise was top notch. The ship, crew and staff, food and excursions were all excellent. Loved being able to visit so many beautiful cities without the hassle of changing hotels, and yet have all the amenities of the Viking Jarl. We were very impressed with the quality of the food, there were so many choices and it was all delicious. The excursions were all excellent too - both the

...

Read More

Sail Date: May 2024

Traveled with children

May in Bordeaux, France

Review for a Europe - River Cruise Cruise on Viking Forseti

Viking Cruise Reviews (2024 UPDATED): Ratings of Viking River Cruises (19)

AVB-AMG

6-10 Cruises

• Age 60s

This is a wonderful river cruise for anyone who is loves wine and is curious to learn more about how some of the world's best wines are produced. This particular river cruise does not travel very far on the Gironde and Garonne rivers, yet provides a very comfortable venue to tour many of the regions historical chateaus and world-renowned vineyards. The various choices of included and optional

...

Read More

Sail Date: May 2024

Traveled with children

Fantastic first cruise!

Review for a Europe - River Cruise Cruise on Viking Atla

Viking Cruise Reviews (2024 UPDATED): Ratings of Viking River Cruises (22)

LokiTM

First Time Cruiser

• Age 50s

This was my first cruise experience. The crew was fantastic, always friendly and attentive. The food was very good.I would have liked some of the outings to focus more on history and culture rather than things like the Sound of Music.There were some technical issues on the ship but they were handled well by the crew with minimal impact on the passengers.The cabin was great, and the bed

...

Read More

Sail Date: May 2024

  • Viking Cruise Reviews (2024 UPDATED): Ratings of Viking River Cruises (2024)

    FAQs

    What is the rating for Viking cruises? ›

    Cruise Critic

    For every Viking ship they have reviewed —Viking Venus(2021), Viking Jupiter (2019), Viking Orion(2018), Viking Sky(2017), Viking Sea(2016) and Viking Star(2015)—Cruise Critic's team of expert editors has awarded their highest rating: 5 stars.

    Are Viking cruises high end? ›

    From the tastefully appointed, modern, beautifully designed, Scandinavian ships to the luxurious all-inclusive amenities, Viking are recognised as a Luxury Brand within the industry.

    What do people say about Viking cruises? ›

    In an era of over-promising, false claims, and other questionable ethics, Viking delivered a high value cruise experience. It was our first time with Viking and we already booked another cruise. The staff, the ship, the excursion guides and the ports selected were all above average and many were excellent.

    Is Viking a top cruise line? ›

    Viking was named Best Luxury Line, Best Line for Couples and Best Line in the Mediterranean in U.S. News & World Report's 2024 Best Cruise Lines ranking.

    What is the ranking of Viking cruise lines? ›

    Silver Travel Advisor also voted Viking #1 for Rivers and #1 for Oceans in the awards' Best Premium or Luxury Cruise Line category. In October, Viking made history when it was voted #1 for rivers, oceans and expeditions by Condé Nast Traveler in the publication's 2023 Readers' Choice Awards.

    What is the credit rating of Viking? ›

    We believe Viking's revenue, EBITDA, and cash flow will continue to increase and leverage will improve to the mid-4x area this year from around 5x at the end of 2023. As a result, we raised our issuer credit rating on Viking to 'B+' from 'B'. The outlook is positive.

    What is the average age of people on Viking River cruises? ›

    The average age of Viking Rurik's passengers has been decreasing every year, according to the ship's hotel manager. While the trip used to draw mostly those in their 70's, passengers are now typically in their late 50's and 60's, with a smattering of younger (for a river cruise) passengers in their 40's.

    Is Viking Cruises having financial problems? ›

    It has about $4.7 billion in debt, according to data compiled by Bloomberg. The company is backed by private equity firm TPG and the Canada Pension Plan Investment Board, which together invested about $500 million in additional capital in November 2020, after first investing in 2016.

    How to get the best deal on Viking River Cruise? ›

    There's a higher chance of finding cheaper Viking River cruise prices by booking between 6 months to 12 months in advance. But there are also lots of last-minute cruise deals closer to your preferred departure date, but this will depend on your flexibility.

    Who is the competitor to Viking River Cruise? ›

    How Does AmaWaterways & Viking River Cruises Compare on Price, Inclusions and Booking Policies? AmaWaterways and Viking are similarly priced across all cabin categories, from the lowest on up to the suites, and both offer comparable inclusions.

    Why are Viking River cruises so expensive? ›

    Why are Viking cruises so expensive? They're a luxury line that is all-inclusive. The bargain lines (basically, the big party ships doing the tropical island/Mexico port-hopping) are cheap because you get your room and the cheap food alternatives and that's about it.

    Is Viking owned by Carnival? ›

    When it comes to ownership, most cruise lines -- with the notable exceptions of MSC Cruises, which is privately owned by the family of Italian billionaire Gianluigi Aponte; Viking Cruises, which is privately held and overseen by founder Torstein Hagen; and Windstar Cruises, owned by Xanterra Parks and Resorts, a ...

    Is Viking a good company? ›

    Viking Cruises has an overall rating of 3.0 out of 5, based on over 765 reviews left anonymously by employees. 49% of employees would recommend working at Viking Cruises to a friend and 48% have a positive outlook for the business. This rating has decreased by 5% over the last 12 months.

    What age group is Viking Cruises for? ›

    Can children travel with Viking? All guests must be 18 years old on or before the day they are scheduled to embark on their cruise; we do not maintain facilities or services on board for younger individuals.

    Who is the target audience for Viking Cruises? ›

    Viking Cruises CEO Torstein Hagen is targeting baby boomers as the luxury cruise line's target audience. A veteran cruise attendee at just 24 years old, Julia Wilcox is used to her inbox flooding with promotional emails from cruise lines courting loyal customers.

    What are the pros and cons of Viking air? ›

    The advantage of using Viking is often times the fare is cheaper. The other reason is if your flight is changed or cancelled while you are already cruising, if you miss a connection or have any trouble with your flights, Viking will help you. The disadvantage is it's harder to upgrade and you can't use FF miles.

    Top Articles
    Latest Posts
    Article information

    Author: Ray Christiansen

    Last Updated:

    Views: 5501

    Rating: 4.9 / 5 (49 voted)

    Reviews: 88% of readers found this page helpful

    Author information

    Name: Ray Christiansen

    Birthday: 1998-05-04

    Address: Apt. 814 34339 Sauer Islands, Hirtheville, GA 02446-8771

    Phone: +337636892828

    Job: Lead Hospitality Designer

    Hobby: Urban exploration, Tai chi, Lockpicking, Fashion, Gunsmithing, Pottery, Geocaching

    Introduction: My name is Ray Christiansen, I am a fair, good, cute, gentle, vast, glamorous, excited person who loves writing and wants to share my knowledge and understanding with you.