Royal Caribbean Freedom of the Seas Cruise Reviews (2024 UPDATED): Ratings of Royal Caribbean Freedom of the Seas (2024)

Cruiser Rating

4.1

Very Good

2,410 reviews

Ratings by category

Cabins
Dining
Entertainment

Featured Review

Amazing 1st cruise

"

Our room was decorated for our anniversary by staff and we had a bottle of free wine.Definitely happy with balcony room.

..."

Read More

Royal Caribbean Freedom of the Seas Cruise Reviews (2024 UPDATED): Ratings of Royal Caribbean Freedom of the Seas (1)

Kittyt98

First Time Cruiser

Age 40s

Filters

1-10 of 2,410 Royal Caribbean Freedom of the Seas Cruise Reviews

Good, but could be so much better

Review for a Caribbean - Eastern Cruise on Freedom of the Seas

Royal Caribbean Freedom of the Seas Cruise Reviews (2024 UPDATED): Ratings of Royal Caribbean Freedom of the Seas (2)

Ralph Es

2-5 Cruises

• Age 40s

Overall, the cruise experience was great, although for being our first time with Royal Caribbean and first time cruising with young kids, was a bit disappointed by the lack of activities for the kids other than the option to drop them off at the activity centers. Because we don’t really trust leaving our 4yr old and 1 yr old with strangers, I wish there were activities where parents could

...

Read More

Sail Date: April 2024

Traveled with children

My honest review

Review for a Bahamas Cruise on Freedom of the Seas

This was the first cruise for myself and 2 kids ages 4 and 7. My husband had been on one in the past. We booked a very basic room on the 5th floor (13 floors total) and it worked out fine for us. We didn’t have a window or balcony, but it wasn’t a big deal. I found that when I was looking out the window while dining I felt a bit nauseous so not having the window actually helped. The food was good.

...

Read More

Sail Date: April 2024

Saddened

Review for a Bahamas Cruise on Freedom of the Seas

Royal Caribbean Freedom of the Seas Cruise Reviews (2024 UPDATED): Ratings of Royal Caribbean Freedom of the Seas (5)

Northeast5331

First Time Cruiser

• Age 60s

I have cruised with rccl many times in the past. I had a problem with my next door neighbor playing and singing along with rap music from 1:30 am to 2:15 am. I called guest service twice and no one answered. Later they offered 15% of the cost of that cruise towards the next rccl within the year. That's $200. Wow. They give out one pen to a winning team for a trivia challenge. One pen total. We

...

Read More

Sail Date: April 2024

Fun ship with an enthusiastic crew.

Review for a Bahamas Cruise on Freedom of the Seas

Royal Caribbean Freedom of the Seas Cruise Reviews (2024 UPDATED): Ratings of Royal Caribbean Freedom of the Seas (6)

Koohiichan

First Time Cruiser

• Age 50s

Enjoyed our Mother-Daughter cruise. Our goal was a beach-focused cruise for 22 year old and 56 year old. We’re both experienced cruisers and have sailed Royal before as it was our family’s choice for family cruising when daughter was younger. Recently husband and I have moved back to Celebrity so i couldn’t help but view this cruise through that lens. The good:Staff was enthusiastic and

...

Read More

Sail Date: March 2024

Good cruise hampered by poor staff

Review for a Bahamas Cruise on Freedom of the Seas

Royal Caribbean Freedom of the Seas Cruise Reviews (2024 UPDATED): Ratings of Royal Caribbean Freedom of the Seas (7)

IntegerMan

First Time Cruiser

• Age 40s

We chose a short cruise to see if we enjoyed it. Overall, it was a fun voyage, but we had consistent issues with staff, most notably the person traiging dinner guests on deck 3 on all 3 nights of our cruise. This individual was apathetic at best and openly hostile and antagonistic at his worst, and marred what otherwise would have been a lovely anniversary dinner. Royal Caribbean did not respond

...

Read More

Sail Date: March 2024

Great Getaway Vacation

Review for a Bahamas Cruise on Freedom of the Seas

Royal Caribbean Freedom of the Seas Cruise Reviews (2024 UPDATED): Ratings of Royal Caribbean Freedom of the Seas (8)

Family Vacation 2024

2-5 Cruises

• Age 60s

We chose the cruise because it checked every box. We decided late in the game to go and priced it out. The upgrades to the ship were great, the staff was excellent in answering our questions, and the entertainment was awesome. Our only two issues, which we really love when we cruise is to have a good time as a family (which we did), an have good food. Our waiter was not ever able to smile. He was

...

Read More

Sail Date: February 2024

Cabin Type: Spacious Ocean View Balcony

Traveled with children

Freedom of the Seas – Excellent Weekend Getaway

Review for a Bahamas Cruise on Freedom of the Seas

Royal Caribbean Freedom of the Seas Cruise Reviews (2024 UPDATED): Ratings of Royal Caribbean Freedom of the Seas (12)

BirdTravels

10+ Cruises

• Age 60s

BACKGROUND INFORMATIONWe really enjoyed a fast-paced weekend getaway on the Freedom of the Seas. When the Freedom OTS first set sail in May 2006, she was the largest cruise ship in the world. In March 2020 just before the pandemic shutdown, Royal Caribbean spent $116M to amp the Freedom, updating her amenities and features to the latest in the fleet. The Freedom of the Seas has 1963

...

Read More

Sail Date: February 2024

Cabin Type: Spacious Promenade View interior

The Best

Review for a Bahamas Cruise on Freedom of the Seas

Royal Caribbean Freedom of the Seas Cruise Reviews (2024 UPDATED): Ratings of Royal Caribbean Freedom of the Seas (19)

gurbizo

6-10 Cruises

• Age 50s

It is the best cruise I have ever been on, the food is delicious, the room is super spacious, the service is spectacular, the private island is a dream, in short they are the best.The customer service is super exceptional, in the restaurant the food is super fresh and fabulous, at the buffet the food always has a lot of variety in both fruits and everything else.The activities are super

...

Read More

Sail Date: February 2024

Cabin Type: Grand Suite

This was the worst experience, definitely not worth the price!

Review for a Bahamas Cruise on Freedom of the Seas

Royal Caribbean Freedom of the Seas Cruise Reviews (2024 UPDATED): Ratings of Royal Caribbean Freedom of the Seas (20)

Mssierra13

2-5 Cruises

• Age 30s

The food was terrible in all of the dining we did and the food is usually our favorite part, not this time. Everything was less than mediocre including the fine dining evenings. The ship was incredibly overcrowded. We had to FIGHT to find a table at the buffet and then fight to get a plate of food. It was also impossible to find seating on the upper decks, so we had to take our deck food down to

...

Read More

Sail Date: January 2024

Traveled with children

Poor cruise

Review for a Bahamas Cruise on Freedom of the Seas

Royal Caribbean Freedom of the Seas Cruise Reviews (2024 UPDATED): Ratings of Royal Caribbean Freedom of the Seas (21)

Hockeyman197

2-5 Cruises

• Age 40s

Was disappointed in this cruise. The oceans were rough, we were thrown all over the boat and our stops cancelled so I was expecting some sort of compensation but nothing came. They said you can have a day at sea, rough seas and dig out your credit card to enjoy your trip. Also we could only drink water with our meals, felt like a criminal for our $2500 cruise we spent as a family. Also,they

...

Read More

Sail Date: December 2023

Cabin Type: Ocean View

Traveled with children

  • Royal Caribbean Freedom of the Seas Cruise Reviews (2024 UPDATED): Ratings of Royal Caribbean Freedom of the Seas (2024)

    FAQs

    What is the rating of Freedom of the Seas? ›

    A ship's traveler rating is provided under license by Cruiseline.com , which manages one of the largest databases of cruise reviews and ratings by travelers. A total of 3380 guests have reviewed Freedom of the Seas, giving it a rating of 4.2 on a scale of 1-5.

    Is Freedom of the Seas an old ship? ›

    Freedom of the Seas launched in May 2006 as the world's biggest cruise ship, measuring 155,000 tons, carrying 4,500 passengers and introducing Royal Caribbean's now-widespread FlowRider surf simulator to the cruise industry.

    When was Freedom of the Seas last renovated? ›

    Built in 2006, Freedom was the largest cruise ship in the world at that time! It's since lost that title to the Oasis Class Ships but is still a mega sized ship! I just completed a 3 night weekend cruise on Royal Caribbean's Freedom of the Seas. Freedom received its 116 Million dollar Amped up refurbishment in 2020.

    Is Freedom of the Seas a party ship? ›

    In between exploring Southern Caribbean shores, Freedom of the Seas delivers all new amped up thrills — like the twisting turning waterslide duo, The Perfect Storm℠. Delicious deckside dining that takes you from Mexico to Japan. And bars that keep the party going — and the co*cktails flowing — long after the sun sets.

    What is not included on Freedom of the Seas? ›

    Not included in the cruise fare are: soda, wine, beer, liquor, co*cktails, premium coffee and tea (such as Starbucks®), bottled water and fresh-squeezed juices. You can choose to pay as you go or purchase a beverage package.

    What class is Freedom of the Seas? ›

    The Freedom class is a group of three cruise ships for Royal Caribbean International. The first ship of the class, Freedom of the Seas, was the largest passenger ship in the world, and the largest ever built in terms of passenger capacity and gross tonnage, when it was built in 2006.

    What tragedy happened on Freedom of the Seas? ›

    On July 7, 2019, 18-month-old Chloe Wiegand died after falling through an open window on the 11th deck while the ship was docked in San Juan, Puerto Rico.

    What changed on Freedom of the Seas? ›

    Other changes were more involved, like the addition of Playmakers Sports Bar and Arcade, a concept that launched on the Symphony of the Seas when that ship debuted in 2018. Prior to the amplification, the Freedom lacked a sports bar.

    Is Freedom of the Seas better than independence of the seas? ›

    Independence of the Seas is also very similar to sister ship Freedom of the Seas. They're both part of the Freedom class and virtually carbon copies of each other. The only main difference between them is that Independence has a Sky Pad, which the Freedom does not.

    Is coffee free on Freedom of the Seas? ›

    The main dining room menu is tasty, the pizza shop serves up some of the best slices we've ever had, and the onboard cafe offers 24-hour nibbles, coffee and tea -- all free.

    What Broadway show is on Freedom of the Seas? ›

    Swing the night away to some smooth jazz in some of the onboard pubs, a broadway-style show, Once Upon a Time, and even ice dance performances from Freedom ICE!.

    Is Freedom of the Seas a good ship for families? ›

    My kids and I had so much fun cruising on Royal Caribbean's Freedom of the Seas ship! If family fun while cruising is what you're after, Freedom could be a great ship selection for your next travel adventure. Educational travel is a big part of our homeschool experience.

    What is the difference between Freedom of the Seas and liberty of the seas? ›

    Liberty has a water ride that carries you in a two-person raft first down, then back up again, boomerang-style. Freedom has a different water coaster that uses two-person rafts and a head-first mat waterslide called Riptide, which is not found on Liberty.

    Is Freedom of the Seas the largest ship? ›

    Freedom of the Seas was built at the Aker Yards Turku Shipyard, Finland, which built the ships of the Voyager class as well as the other ships of the Freedom class. Upon her completion in 2006, she became the largest passenger ship ever built, taking the record from Queen Mary 2 (QM2), an ocean liner.

    Top Articles
    Latest Posts
    Article information

    Author: Mr. See Jast

    Last Updated:

    Views: 5513

    Rating: 4.4 / 5 (55 voted)

    Reviews: 94% of readers found this page helpful

    Author information

    Name: Mr. See Jast

    Birthday: 1999-07-30

    Address: 8409 Megan Mountain, New Mathew, MT 44997-8193

    Phone: +5023589614038

    Job: Chief Executive

    Hobby: Leather crafting, Flag Football, Candle making, Flying, Poi, Gunsmithing, Swimming

    Introduction: My name is Mr. See Jast, I am a open, jolly, gorgeous, courageous, inexpensive, friendly, homely person who loves writing and wants to share my knowledge and understanding with you.